Media can be irresponsible!

In a Medical News post, the headline read, “Mexican researcher close to finding a cure for Parkinson’s disease.” Then the last sentence qualifies that it “could even act as a cure.”

Well, I’m as anxious for a cure as the next guy, and am excited with some recent developments, particularly as result from my team’s discovery of the first Parkinson’s mutation in alpha-synuclein—I’m even intrigued by the mechanism described in the article as I’ve long suspected calcium’s involvement. (I once served as a control for a study measuring intracellular calcium and was so “off the chart,” that I skewed the data terribly. It’s significance has sat in the back of my thoughts ever since I developed Parkinson’s 10 years ago.) So, I laude Caraveo and Lindquist clarifying a mechanism tied to calcium! 🙂

But, the headline here is rather an over-reaching claim, and a disservice to the PD community…Let’s hope it does pan out!!

Leave a Reply

