Day of Hope at Overlook Hospital

I thoroughly enjoyed speaking at Dr. Roger Kurlan’s Day of Hope at Overlook Hospital on September 19th. I had a  few fun slides such as this “Genetics 101.”

lightbulb genetics

I used my “Big Kahuna” to emphasize that the Michael J. Fox Foundation calls our breakthrough in identifying alpha-synuclein the “most promising therapeutic target for Parkinson disease.”

Big Kahuna

I  began the talk with having chaired a London meeting of parkinsonologists even as I realized I was developing PD. Finding Michael J. Fox’s book at Harrod’s was a lifeline for me—I needed to know if I would ever again feel “lucky.”  Having reviewed some promising therapeutics in development, I concluded saying that I’m still working on getting to “Lucky,” but I HAVE gotten to “Hopeful.”

Hopeful Woman2

Leave a Reply

